When parents don’t understand your mental health struggles

Your parents are people who are supposed to be understanding and supportive whatever mood you’re in right?

I’ve gone through my whole life with my parents not understanding me, my Mum especially… she has even accused me of using my anxiety and depression as an excuse for stuff which obviously I do not, I wouldn’t wish it on anyone!

We aren’t really getting on at the moment, we fell out the other day cos apparently I don’t talk to her about how I’m feeling and that she can’t have a normal conversation with me!

Well she can’t blame me when she say’s things to me like ‘you need to get a grip’ or ‘you’re going to have to snap yourself out of it’ in my opinion these are the worst kind of things you can say to someone who suffers with depression!! If I could just ‘snap out of it!’ I would!

She makes me feel guilty when I have my bad days and then tells me I’m bringing her down!

I’m struggling with all this crazy pandemic news and new restrictions and loads of other stuff on my mind.

But I shouldn’t be made to feel guilty for how I’m feeling!

Just

Ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!

Leave a comment